Mighty BUCS Do It Again - South Dade News Leader: Community News | South Dade News Leader | Miami Dade County

Not you?||
Logout|My Account

Mighty BUCS Do It Again

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, March 9, 2018 12:31 pm

South Dade Wrestling wins their 5th consecutive FHSAA 3A State Championship 

   The mighty Buccaneers from South Dade High School did it again, they brought back yet another FHSAA 3A State Championship title. This is the 5th consecutive title for the BUCS and their 14th overall state championship. South Dade is the first team in Florida history to win 5 consecutive championships in the large school division. They also became the first team in Florida history to win two 3A wrestling State Championships in one

calendar year. South Dade also won the inaugural FHSAA 3A Dual Meet State Championship back in January.

   The BUCS dominated the rest of the 3A teams outscoring the next closest team, Fleming Island by 90 points. South Dade was led by 4 individual state champions. Luis Peraza dominated his way to his first state title in the 106 pounds division and finished the season with a 58-2 record.

   The next BUCCANEER to bring back the gold was sophomore Bretli Reyna. Reyna was the undefeated defending state champion and this championship is his 2nd consecutive state title. Reyna is also a 3x All American and nationally ranked.

    Brevin Balmeceda was the next South Dade wrestler to win a state title. Balmeceda became only the 6th wrestler in school history and the 12th wrestler in Dade County history to become a 3x state champion. Brevin is the #1 ranked 152 pounds junior in the country and is also a 4x National Champion including the Super 32 National belt he won in October.

   The last Buccaneer wrestler to win an individual state title for the South Dade was Todd Perry. After finishing as the state runner up last year, Perry brought back his first state gold medal in dominant fashion pinning his opponent in the state finals! Perry is also a 2x All American and sophomore national runner up.

   But, you can't dominate the state tournament with just four wrestlers. Tyler Orta, Corey Harvey and Trayvonne Jackson finish the season as State Runners Up, each falling just one win short of their goals of becoming state champions.

Other outstanding performers for the BUCS were: Isaac Duran, who placed 4th on his first trip to the state tournament. "Freshman Sensation" Joshua Swan brought home the bronze medal, taking 3rd place. Senior, Mikael Fundora also placed 3rd. This was his second time making the podium at the state championships. Miguel Flores lost in the heartbreak round, falling 1 match short of making the podium.

   Overall, South Dade High School showed why they have been ranked #1 all season long as they continue to dominate the state of Florida in wrestling, bringing back their 5th consecutive state championship and their 14th overall State Crown.

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.